4 Comments

Stocktake Saturday 57

Welcome to Stocktake Saturday! This feature is where I share some bookish news with you and then show you all the bookish goodies I got over the week.


The cover reveals from the last week  – (links to Goodreads pages)

  • Reunion (Rift Runners #3) by Jennifer Fallon – I love it, I love the green!
  • Wings (Black City #3) by Elizabeth Richards
  • Student Bodies (Poltergeeks #2) by Sean Cummings
  • Panic by Lauren Oliver
  • Pawn (The Blackcoat Rebellion #1) by Aimee Carter
  • Monsters (The Ashes Trilogy #3) by Ilsa J. Bick – AU cover – this is gorgeous!!! ❤
  • Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (Harry Potter #6) by J.K. Rowling – US paperback cover. Check out all the new US paperback covers here.


In Bookish News, Patrick Rothfuss’ The Kingkiller Chronicle has been optioned to be developed into a drama series for TV by New Regency Productions and 20th Century Fox Television. Read the announcement here

In case you were waiting for Invisibility by Andrea Cremer and David Levithan to be published in Australia, PenguinTeen AU has announced it will be available in all good Aussie bookstores on 24 July, along with their reprinted 50 green crime classics (more information on them here).

Veronica Roth has announced at Comic Con that Allegiant will be written in dual point-of-view (Tris and Four), with chapters alternating between them.

Joe Abercrombie has sold a new fantasy series to HarperVoyager. The new series will be set in an alternative-Europe (so not the First Law world), with each volume loosely connected to the others rather than forming a single story. The new books will also be aimed at a wider audience than his previous works – the intended audience is both adults and younger readers. The first book, to be released in 2014, will be called Half a King.

Strange Chemistry has signed début author Lisa O’Kane in a two-book deal. They have acquired the world rights to her first novel, Essence, with a release date of Spring 2014 (Australian Autumn 2014) and an as-yet-unamed sequel, with a 2015 release date. About Essence:

Essence combines The Beach‘s illusion of paradise with Divergent‘s adrenaline-fueled adventures.

Neutrality is the key to longevity. This motto has governed 17-year-old Autumn’s life in the mid-21st-century Centrist cult, which believes that expressing emotions leads to Essence drain and premature death.

But Autumn’s younger brother’s death casts her faith into question. While sprinting through a park in violation of Centrist teachings, she encounters Ryder Stone, an Outsider who claims Essence drain is nothing more than a Centrist scare tactic. She agrees to join his Community, a utopia of adrenaline junkies living in the abandoned remains of Yosemite National Park.

Autumn learns about sex, drugs, and living life to the fullest. But as she discovers dark secrets beneath the Community’s perfect exterior, she realises that this illusion of paradise could be shattered …

This week I’ve been Waiting On … Rags & Bones: New Twists on Timeless Tales edited by Melissa Marr and Tim Pratt.

My book haul this week, thanks to Hachette AU (links to Goodreads):

Last time I was 6 books ahead in my Read Three, Buy One scheme, with two purchases unlocked! It won’t surprise you to know I’ve already used them up:

I reviewed the following books this week:

  1. iD: The Second Machine Dynasty by Madeline Ashby
  2. Planesrunner by Ian McDonald

Which leaves me 1 book behind!

I hope you have some goodies to share as well, leave your links below and I’ll be sure to visit 🙂

Happy Reading!

4 comments on “Stocktake Saturday 57

  1. Man pretty pretty covers again this week. Of course, I’m in love with the new HP covers and HBP is no exception! This coming from the girl who rarely likes cover redesigns but the really did a good job with these ♥ Wings & Pawn are pretty too!

    I admit that I’m kind of excited to see how Allegiant will come off in dual POV’s – it’ll definitely change the tone of the book compared to the other two!

    Fabulous haul too – YAY for Angelfall, I still need to read my copy but I’ve heard NOTHING but good things…also glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read it yet ­>.< Ocean at the End of the Lane and Of Poseidon are on the reading list as well. Congrats on the fab week and the lovely books 😀

  2. Ooh, Ocean at the End of the Lane. I quite want to read that. *jealous* ;-p

  3. I’d be very excited for an Angelfall giveaway, tried to win it on goodreads but didn’t win. I’m dying to read it.

  4. How cool does Lexicon look? Max Barry was in the office the other day – I didn’t get to meet him, but I did see him walk by. I need to find a copy of this book soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

