2 Comments

Stocktake Saturday 47

Welcome to Stocktake Saturday! This feature is where I share some bookish news with you and then show you all the bookish goodies I got over the week.


The cover reveals from the last week  – (links to Goodreads pages)

In Bookish News, Julie Kagawa announced the title for the third book in the Blood of Eden series on Twitter: it’s called The Forever Song. The title is creepy and apt, it will make sense if you have read Book 2, The Eternity Cure, and read this *spoilery* case file of Sarren that HarlequinTeen posted up. For Julie’s Iron Fey fans, they have also posted up an awesome Fey-mily Tree – I love it!!

Other title news includes the announcement by Hachette Children’s Books concerning the fifth and final book in Jessica Shirvington’s The Violet Eden Chapters – it will be entitled Empower.

PenguinTeen Australia has released another teaser from The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4) by Richelle Mead: “Moroi shied away from sunlight, but as I watched the way it illuminated Sydney, I knew without a doubt that humans had been made for the sun.

Author Maureen Johnson called for an end to gender inequality in publishing this week by challenging her Twitter followers to reimagine book covers if the author’s gender had been flipped. This article explores the startling realities of book-marketting, and for me, personally, brought to light some uncomfortable truths about the way I judge books by their covers. Check it out here.

The Atlantic’s Noah Berlatsky has written a thought-provoking article on men reading books by women, and what a female author offers a male reader. I liked it, I think it’s good to focus on the positives of reading as a pathway to experience to new things 🙂

Tor Books have been publishing their e-books DRM-free for just over a year now. Their verdict on the decision, which was initially met with wide ranging scepticism and nay-saying, is that it has not resulted in a discernible increase in piracy as feared. Hopefully other publishers will soon follow suit.

The YA Sisterhood has happily announced that it will be hosting the YA Crush Tourney again this year, with a few tweaks to take the competition back to its roots. The news has been met with much rejoicing, and frantic searching for perfect book boyfriends by readers. Read up on the new rules here, and get busy with your nomination lists!

And finally, Text Publishing has released the Australian book trailer for Haze (The Rephaim #2) by Paula Weston. You should watch it here, it’s amazing, especially the parts where Mandee from veganYAnerds makes her appearances.

This week I have been Waiting On … The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater.

I have the Between the Lives blog tour stopping by on Monday, Jessica Shirvington will be sharing the Between the Lives playlist with us.

I’ve also got two author interviews coming up: Garth Nix and Sean Williams will answer a few questions about their joint YA series Troubletwisters, and Amy Tintera will be stopping by to celebrate the release of her début novel, Reboot.

I was very lucky this week, I got (mostly unsolicited) physical review copies from PenguinTeen AU, Bloomsbury Sydney, PanMacmillan AU, Hot Key Books, Hachette AU, Allen & Unwin and HarperCollins AU (links to Goodreads):

  • Rising Darkness (Game of Shadows, #1) by Thea Harrison
  • The Bone Season (Scion, #1) by Samantha Shannon – Yay!! This is one of my most anticipated books of 2013, I’m so excited!
  • The Nightmare Affair (The Arkwell Academy #1) by Mindee Arnett – a gorgeous hardcover edition from the wonderful people at PanMacmillan AU
  • The Beautiful and the Cursed (The Dispossessed #1) by Page Morgan – Isn’t our cover awesome?
  • Death & Co. by DJ McCune
  • The Serpent’s Tooth (Empire of the Moghul #5) by Alex Rutherford – why didn’t I know there is a whole series based on the Moghuls? I love this period in history. My library has all the previous books, I’ve requested the first two in the series!

And e-galleys from NetGalley:

Last time I was 11 books behind in my Read Three, Buy One scheme. I reviewed the following books this week:

  1. Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi
  2. Troubletwisters by Garth Nix & Sean Williams
  3. The Monster by Garth Nix & Sean Williams
  4. The Cloud Hunters by Alex Shearer

Which leaves me 7 books behind. Yay, it’s getting closer to a positive number … exciting!

I hope you have some goodies to share as well, leave your links below and I’ll be sure to visit 🙂

Happy Reading!

2 comments on “Stocktake Saturday 47

  1. Still SO excited for the Allegiant cover *squee* and Obsession is super hot! Lots of exciting bookish news this week too!

    Fantastic haul though!! Wow, The Beautiful & the Cursed, School for Good & Evil, iD, Data Runner and the Elemental Series are ALL on the wishlist! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on all of these 😀 Congrats and thanks for sharing!!

  2. Meh @ Allegiant cover & tittle. The weakest link in series.
    The Tower Broken is all purpley, but I can’t wait for more about their mages. That was missing in series so far. 🙂
    Great article by Maureen Johnson. And I love flipped covers. LOL at Georgette Martin. 😀
    Yes your cover for The Beautiful and the Cursed is awesome. 🙂
    Wonderful books on your pile this week, we only got Playing Tayler in common. I hope you enjoy them all!
    New books for me this week…

Leave a Reply

