6 Comments

Stocktake Saturday 38

Welcome to Stocktake Saturday! This feature is where I share some bookish news with you and then show you all the bookish goodies I got over the week.

First up are the covers that were revealed this week (links to Goodreads pages):

In bookish news, I found out that the final book in the Legend trilogy by Marie Lu will be called Champion, you can add it to your Goodreads shelves here. Marie also said on Twitter that it “opens with a very kissy scene from Day’s point of view” – so we have that to look forward to after the ending of Prodigy.

Jay Kristoff, author of the amazing 2012 début Stormdancer, has made a novella available on his website. It’s called Praying for Rain and is accessible, along with Stormdancer desktop images, full colour maps, clan logo and other awesome stuff, when you click the ‘BONUS STAGE’ logo on this webpage. Praying for Rain is a short story set in the world of The Lotus War trilogy, sort of an introduction to the city of Kigen.

This week I have been Waiting On …  Spellcaster by Claudia Gray. I also helped with the cover reveal for Karen Sandler’s Awakening, the second book in her Tankborn trilogy.

I received the following books for review this week (links to Goodreads pages):

Last week I was 26 books ahead with the book buying quota in my Read Three, Buy One scheme, with 8 book purchases unlocked. I’ve bought some books with all those stored ‘credits’:

  • Disharmony (The Telling #1) by Leah Giarratano – since I got the sequel for review last week
  • The Darkest Minds (The Darkest Minds #1) by Alexandra Bracken
  • Venom (Secrets of the Eternal Rose #1) by Fiona Paul

And I reviewed the following books over the week:

  1. Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder
  2. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
  3. Katya’s World by Jonathan L. Howard
  4. The Farm by Emily McKay

This leaves me 21 books ahead with the book buying quota, and with 7 book purchases unlocked!!

I hope you have some goodies to share as well, leave your links below and I’ll be sure to visit 🙂

Happy Reading!

6 comments on “Stocktake Saturday 38

  1. Oh nice haul! The Darkest Minds is really good! So was Scarlet! I also can’t wait to read Dare You Too! EEK!

  2. Awesome haul. Venom and The Darkest Minds are both awesome. Can’t wait for the sequels to come out this year. I have Dare You To and can’t wait to read it soon. Happy reading.

    Katie ~ My Mailbox

  3. You’ve reminded me of The Darkest Minds – I still have my NG copy but haven’t read it yet – oops! Enjoy your reads this week!

  4. Wait, have you already read Venom and Darkest Minds (from review copies)? Also, have you read any of the Rae Carson books? I read the first one and am curious about the second. Inquiring minds needs to know.

    • You have a really good memory!! Yes I got e-galley version from Netgalley, but I haven’t read them yet and they looked so pretty in the stores I couldn’t resist. I’ll probably get around to them quicker now that I have print versions.

      No I haven’t read the Rae Carson books. I want to but we can only get hardcover versions here and it’s too expensive at the moment! How was the first one?

      • I only remember because I got them too.

        (Girl of) Fire and Thorns wasn’t bad. A bit rough around the edges probably because it was a debut. The ending was slightly deus ex machina but not enough to really piss me off. Review.

Leave a Reply

