2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday 22

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that allows readers to showcase eagerly awaited upcoming releases.

This week I’ve picked Promise of Blood by Brian McClellan

  • Expected publication: April 16th 2013 by Orbit Books (Hachette AU)
  • Format: Hardback, 560 pages
  • Series: The Power Mage Trilogy, Book 1
  • ISBN13: 9780316219037 ISBN10: 0316219037
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository

The Age of Kings is dead . . . and I have killed it.

Field Marshal Tamas’ coup against his king sent corrupt aristocrats to the guillotine and brought bread to the starving. But it also provoked war with the Nine Nations, internal attacks by royalist fanatics, and greedy scrambling for money and power by Tamas’s supposed allies: the Church, workers unions, and mercenary forces. Stretched to his limit, Tamas is relying heavily on his few remaining powder mages, including the embittered Taniel, a brilliant marksman who also happens to be his estranged son, and Adamat, a retired police inspector whose loyalty is being tested by blackmail.

Now, as attacks batter them from within and without, the credulous are whispering about omens of death and destruction. Just old peasant legends about the gods waking to walk the earth. No modern educated man believes that sort of thing. But they should…

I’ve been looking into reading more high fantasy lately, and this is one the books I’m most excited about. Promise of Blood looks amazing, perfect for fans of Sanderson and Rothfuss in my opinion. And I like the cover!

I’d love to see what you are waiting on … please leave links and I’ll be sure to check them out!

2 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 22

  1. I have not come across this book before. Thanks so much for bringing it to my attention. Happy Reading! Here is my WoW for this week!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: