5 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday 18

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that allows readers to showcase eagerly awaited upcoming releases.

This week I’ve picked The Daylight War by Peter V. Brett

  • Expected publication: UK – February 11th 2013 by Harper Voyager; US – February 4th 2013 by Del Ray
  • Format: Paperback, 560 pages
  • ISBN13: 9780007276219 ISBN10: 0007276214
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository

Continuing the impressive debut fantasy series from author Peter V. Brett, The Daylight War is book three of The Demon Cycle, pulling the reader into a world of demons, darkness and heroes.

Humanity is fighting back. Although the night still belongs to the demons that arise as the sun sets, new wards and weapons are giving those willing to fight in the darkness a chance to retaliate against their core-spawned enemies.

But, as humanity is about to learn, not all monsters are confined to the dark.

Civil war ravages the north and south, battles fought between those who should be working together. It is up to Arlen – the Painted Man – and Jardir – the self-proclaimed Shar’Dama Ka, the Deliverer – to put aside their differences and bring their people to terms if they are to have any chance of saving their civilisation from demon-rule.

I really liked The Painted Man (The Demon Cycle, #1), and The Desert Spear (The Demon Cycle, #2) is very high on my to read list. I really want to get a copy of The Daylight War when it comes out! I requested it on NetGalley (Yes! It’s on NG!) and I hope I get approved. This is one of the most lovingly crafted, expansive, epic worlds I have ever read about, and the characters are brilliant! I’m using the US cover since the UK cover isn’t out yet, but I’m sure it’ll be just as pretty.

The Demon Cycle by Peter V. Brett: The Painted Man (Demon Cycle #1) – released as The Warded Man in the US; The Desert Spear (Demon Cycle #2); The Daylight War (Demon Cycle #3); The Skull Throne (Demon Cycle #4) – no cover yet; The Core (Demon Cycle #5) – no cover yet

My review of The Painted Man

I’d love to see what you are waiting on … please leave links and I’ll be sure to check them out!

5 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 18

  1. I still did not start The Demon Cycle series but cover for book 3 tempts me … It’s so gorgeous. Did you see Uk version in blue?

  2. I’ve actually never heard of this series before, but it sounds AWESOME. 🙂
    I hope you enjoy it whenever you get to read it!

    My WoW

  3. Really great pick and I love the cover. Thanks you for visiting My WoW

  4. Ok, I’d never even heard of this series before but I rushed over to Goodreads to add book 1 to my reading list! The premise sounds like something I would absolutely love, but I’ll be honest: what struck me most was that SPECTACULAR cover! Wow ♥ Thanks for bringing this to my attention Shaheen 🙂

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

Leave a Reply

