6 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday 17

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that allows readers to showcase eagerly awaited upcoming releases.

This week I’ve picked another fairytale retelling, Beauty by Nancy Ohlin

  • Expected publication: 7th May 2013 by Simon Pulse (no confirmed AU publisher yet)
  • Format: Paperback, 208 pages
  • ISBN13: 9781442472655 ISBN10: 1442472650
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository

Looks to kill for…

Ana is nothing like her glamorous mother, Queen Veda, whose hair is black as ravens and whose lips are red as roses. Alas, Queen Veda loathes anyone whose beauty dares to rival her own—including her daughter.

And despite Ana’s attempts to be plain to earn her mother’s affection,
she’s sent away to the kingdom’s exclusive boarding school.

At the Academy, Ana is devastated when her only friend abandons her for the popular girls. Isolated and alone, Ana resolves to look like a true princess to earn the acceptance she desires.

But when she uncovers the dangerous secret that makes all of the girls at the Academy so gorgeous, just how far will Ana go to fit in?

I’ve really enjoyed a lot of the fairytale retellings I have read, and I hope the book is as awesome as it sounds! And I love that gorgeous cover, it will look so pretty on my shelves.

I’d love to see what you are waiting on … please leave links and I’ll be sure to check them out!

6 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 17

  1. This sounds so good! I love how the summary is centered on the girl alone. I keep on expecting it to mention how some prince will come in and save her. *chuckles*. I’m definitely adding this one to my TBR. 😉

    • Oh I hadn’t even noticed that, but you’re right. I’m even more excited to read it now, finally a book that tales a girl seriously and doesn’t add a boy just because she needs someone to save her!

  2. Fairy tale retelling! YAY! And I didn’t hear about this one. Thanks for featuring it! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂
    Dragana @ Bookworm Dreams
    Check out what I am waiting for this Wednesday…

  3. This one’s a new one for me but it sounds really cool! Can’t wait to read your thoughts on it when it comes out – hope you’ll love it!

  4. This looks so pretty and sounds like a good take on the original story

  5. Wow, this sounds amazing! Thanks for sharing, now I have to add this to my TBR pile 🙂

Leave a Reply

