3 Comments

Stocktake Saturday 23

Welcome to Stocktake Saturday! This feature is where I share some news with you and then show you all the bookish goodies I got over the week.

New covers! (links to Goodreads)

  • Ashfall (Ashfall #1) by Mike Mullin – paperback cover (this one isn’t new, but I only saw it this week)
  • The Prey (The Hunt #2) by Andrew Fukuda – UK cover
  • Quintana of Charyn (Lumatere Chronicles #3) by Melina Marchetta – US cover
  • The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

And some title reveals:

  • Origin (Lux, #4) by Jennifer L. Armentrout
  • Phoenix (A Black City Novel, Book #2) by Elizabeth Richards
  • The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus, #4) by Rick Riordan

Entangled Teen are giving fans the chance to vote for their city as the location of USA TODAY Bestselling author, Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Opal Book Release Party. The cover model, Pepe Toth (AKA Daemon Black), will be flown in from Hungary for the event. Go here to nominate your city!

Kat Zhang talks about the inspiration behind What’s Left of Me and how it explores what it means to be human.

It’s Banned Books Week this week – where readers protest the banning of books by encouraging people to read them and widen their horizons. This article explores some of the funniest responses given when famous authors discovered their books were banned.

Hollywood Crush has released the first two chapters of Rise by Andrea Cremer up on their site. Rise will be released in January 2013.

This week I am Waiting on …  Fuse by Julianna Baggott and I posted an interview with Brigid Kemmerer, the author of the awesome Elementals series, for the Australian blog tour. I also posted my review of Ashen Winter (Ashfall, #2) by Mike Mullin as part of a blog tour.

I got a few books for review this week: (links to Goodreads pages)

  • What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang – paperback version (I got an e-book version a few weeks ago)
  • Surrender (The Ferryman and the Flame #1) by Rhiannon Paille

I ended last week 5 books ahead in my Read Three, Buy One, and thus unlocked a book purchase! So here it is:

This week I reviewed the following books:

  1. Shadows by Ilsa J. Bick
  2. Mockingbird by Chuck Wendig
  3. Ashfall by Mike Mullin
  4. Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin
  5. Lola and the Boy Next Door – Goodreads review since it’s not SpecFic, but I still loved it!

So that leaves me 7 books ahead – this means I have unlocked two book purchases! Suggestions?

I hope you have some goodies to share as well, leave your links below and I’ll be sure to visit 🙂

Happy Reading!

3 comments on “Stocktake Saturday 23

  1. These ALL look like great books, but I’m especially curious/jealous about ‘The Casual Vacancy’! I hope you enjoy all of these when you read them & I also hope you’re better at deciding what to get next than I am…there are simply too many books on my ‘to-read’/’to-buy’ shelves 😉

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows

  2. Whoa, that UK cover of The Prey loos gorgeous!<3
    And nice books this week. Hope you enjoy What's Left of Me & have a great week! ^__^

    My Haul

  3. Haha, I have endless suggestions. ENDLESS. *evil grin* Genre/style you feel like spending money on?

    Unrelatedly, my mum bought The Casual Vacancy. I’m waiting for her to bring it with her when she comes visits. (Then it doesn’t count as a book *I* bought. Plans within plans.)

    I just went a little mad with NG requesting… so I’m in the process of doing my own New Booksies post. (And then another one when the pending requests are dealt with…)

Leave a Reply

