10 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday 4

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine that allows readers to showcase eagerly awaited upcoming releases.

This week I’ve picked Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

  • Expected publication: December 2012 by Penguin AU (also available via Razorbill in US/Can)
  • Hardback, 412 pages
  • Series: Falling Kingdoms, Book 1
  • ISBN13: 9781595145840
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository

In a land where magic has been forgotten but peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest is simmering. Three kingdoms grapple for power—brutally transforming their subjects’ lives in the process. Amidst betrayals, bargains, and battles, four young people find their fates forever intertwined:

Cleo: A princess raised in luxury must embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of a magic long thought extinct.

Jonas: Enraged at injustice, a rebel lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country impoverished—and finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Lucia: A girl adopted at birth into a royal family discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Magnus: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, a firstborn son begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword…

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

I’m really interested in the development of YA Fantasy as a genre in its own right, and Falling Kingdoms sounds like a wonderful addition! Isn’t that cover gorgeous?

Morgan Rhodes is the pen name of Michelle Rowen, a prolific writer of the paranormal who has written the Immortality Bites series, the Nightshade series, the Demon Princess series, the Living in Eden series and the Nightwatchers series. I have only read the first book in her Nightwatchers series, Dark Kiss, and am looking forward to the sequel, Wicked Kiss.

Books by Michelle Rowen: Dark Kiss, Wicked Kiss (see that gorgeous new cover??), Falling Kingdoms

My review of Dark Kiss

I’d love to see what you are waiting on … please leave links and I’ll be sure to check them out!

10 comments on “Waiting on Wednesday 4

  1. I am so excited for this one too! It sounds so amazing. Fantastic pick!

    MaryAnn @ Chapter by Chapter
    Our WoW for this week!

  2. I had no idea that Michelle Rowen wrote Falling Kingdoms! Thanks for sharing that little info with us! I have Dark Kiss on my shelves and plan to read it next month. Falling Kingdoms is on my wishlist as well.

  3. This sounds so awesome. Great pick.

    Jenea @ Books Live Forever
    http://booksliveforever.com/?p=3556

  4. awesome. this was my pick last week and i cannot wait. thanks for stopping by My WoW

  5. I’ve only heard of Michelle Rowen and I’ve never actually read anything of hers which is a huge mistake if all the reviews of her books I have read do them any justice. I really need to pick one of her series and give them a try soon because I’ve heard really great things about her books . Great pick this week. I’ll definitely look into the book and it’s release. Thanks for sharing.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  6. I saw this one advertised yesterday & instantly added it! it sounds great.

    My WoW

  7. I’ve hear a lot about this book and I also can’t wait to read it. Sounds amazing! Great pick!

    Here is my WoW

  8. I LOVE Michelle Rowen and I have heard such great things about Falling Kingdoms so far. Super excited! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

