1 Comment

Stocktake Saturday 6

Hi! Welcome to Stocktake Saturday. This feature is where I share some bookish news with you and then show you all the bookish goodies I got over the week!

In cover news, the cover for the paperback edition of Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi was released this week. I had a few issues with the old cover because I felt that while it is awesome, it barely has anything to do with the storyline of the book. This new cover is not only absolutely amazing, the imagery and themes used in it reflect heavily on the book. The US paperback edition of Shatter Me will be available from 16 October 2012, the same day as Destroy Me, a novella written from Warner’s point of view. Tahereh has said that the covers for both Destroy Me and Unravel Me (Shatter Me #2) will be released later this month and match the new cover, so keep tuned!

Other covers released this week include those of Finale (Hush Hush #4) by Becca Fitzpatrick and Knife Sworn (The Tower and the Knife #2) by Mazarkis Williams. I don’t like the Finale cover, I wish it had as much impact as the Hush Hush cover (Patch falling from heaven) or Silence (Patch holding an unconscious Nora), but this one seems bland. Maybe when I see it reality in October it will impress me more. On the other hand, the cover of Knife Sworn is amazing. The Emperor’s Knife played with ‘The Hooded Man’ concept and didn’t really bring anything to it, but I love the colours used in this one, and of course ‘The Hooded Lady’ lends the right amount of mystery to it! I can’t wait for this one, it will be available in November in the UK and December in the US.
    

In the post which announces the cover of Finale, Becca Fitzpatrick also provides a count down widget to its release! With less than a week to go until the release of The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead, she has written a blogpost updating her fans on what’s happening. It’s all very exciting isn’t it? I just read on the Penguin Australia Facebook page that the AUS and NZ copies of The Golden Lily will come with Chapter One of Bloodlines Book 3. I also remember reading that the Walmart copies in the US will also feature the bonus chapter.

The title of the sequel to Bethany Griffin’s Masque of the Red Death has been released here, it is: Dance of the Red Death. I hope it has a beautiful cover soon to go with that title! Also released recently was the title of Cynthia Hand’s concluding book to her Unearthly series (Unearthly and Hallowed): Boundless.

If you have read Struck by Jennifer Bosworth – a stunning debut about a girl who is addicted to lightning – Tor has released a short prequel story Prophet which you can read here. A short description follows:

“Prophet” is Jennifer Bosworth’s first published short work and serves as a prequel to her debut novel Struck, out on May 8th from Farrar, Strauss & Giroux. 

Some men are born monsters . . . others are made so. In “Prophet,” Rance Ridley, the teenage son of a cult leader, lives on an isolated compound, disconnected from modern civilization. There is no running water. No electricity. And no law but the Prophet’s. When Rance is caught in an act of flagrant disobedience, his father delivers the ultimate punishment.

“Prophet” is a disturbing glimpse into the past of the villain of Jennifer Bosworth’s debut novel, Struck.

Finally, this week an update was released at Hollywood Crush about the movie adaptation of Legend by Marie Lu. Seeing as I love the book, I’m a little wary about the movie  – I think I’ll reserve judgement though until a little later. The second book in the Legend trilogy, Prodigy, is coming out in February of 2013 so keep your eyes peeled (the article mentions a galley of Prodigy, so I wonder when early reader galleys will become available!!)

This week I received the following books for review:

In the past week I have read and reviewed the following books (links to reviews):

And I bought two books:

That’s the end of my book haul for the week. I hope you have some goodies to share as well, leave your links below and I’ll be sure to visit 🙂

Happy Reading!

One comment on “Stocktake Saturday 6

  1. I was sure I commented on this but it seems I haven’t, yet!

    I do like the new cover of Shatter Me because I am so sick of covers featuring girls in big dresses, especially when they have nothing to do with the story!

    And hooray for receiving Unravelled, I hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

