1 Comment

Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

Christopher Paolini is an American author, best known for writing the Inheritance Cycle, including the books Eragon (self published in 2002, published by Knopf in 2003), Eldest (published 2005), Brisingr (2008) and Inheritance (November 11 2011). 

It began with Eragon … It ends with Inheritance

Not so very long ago, Eragon – Shadeslayer, Dragon Rider, was nothing more than a poor farm boy, and his dragon, Saphira, only a blue stone in the forest. Now the fate of an entire civilisation rests on their shoulders. 

The Rider and his dragon have come farther than anyone dared to imagine. But can they topple the evil king, Galbatorix, and restore justice to Alagaësia? And if so, at what cost?

Inheritance certainly delivers as the long awaited ending to the Inheritance Cycle. The final battle with Galbatorix and the fate of Alagaësia following it is examined well in the book, and I never felt the ending was forced. There were a few surprises when I was reading the book, but that’s because I was expecting Paolini to tie things off in a different manner. 

Since this is the last book in the series, I can really see how Paolini’s writing has matured, much in the same way as Eragon matured in the books. The plot is strong throughout the book, and the characters remain true to themselves. The plot centred a lot more on Saphira, and my favourite parts are always when the story is told from her point of view. I also really enjoyed the parts of the books that featured Murtagh. I have always found him to be one of the most interesting characters and it was great to finally learn more about him. 

I am really glad that Inheritance finally came out – I have been waiting for years and it was great to finally know what happens to Eragon, Saphira, Arya, and everyone else. this is a must read if you have started the series and aren’t sure if you want to go on – it’s worth it! And if you haven’t read the Inheritance Cycle, then I highly recommend it to you. 

About the book:

  • Pub. Date: 08 Nov 2011
  • Publisher: Doubleday Children’s Books 
  • Format: Hardback, 880 pages
  • ISBN 13: 9780385616492 ISBN 10: 038561649X
  • Categories: Fantasy, Young Adult
  • Goodreads / The Book Depository
  • My review of Eragon (#1 in the Inheritance Cycle)
  • My review of Eldest (#2 in the Inheritance Cycle)
  • My review of Brisingr (#3 in the Inheritance Cycle)

One comment on “Inheritance by Christopher Paolini

  1. It’s great that you were finally able to finish the series! I know the covers of these books but I’ve never read them, although you now have me intrigued!

Leave a Reply

